Student Organizations

We have many student organizations available for your involvement:

  • The Engineering Student Body (ESB) oversees the mentoring and tutoring programs as well as school-wide events like Freshman Convocation, Engineers week (E-Week), and community service projects.

Also, each discipline has a professional society:

  • The American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME)
  • American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE)
  • American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE)
  • Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE)
  • Association for Computing Machinery (ACM)
  • Association of Engineering Geologists (AEG)

There are also several other groups to get plugged into:

  • The Engineering Service Corps (ESC) is a serviced based program focused on recognizing and supporting engineering students in their volunteer efforts.
  • Engineers Without Borders (EWB) is also a service based organization aimed at involving and training internationally responsible engineers and engineering students.
  • The National Society of Black Engineers (NSBE) is dedicated to the academic and professional success of African-American engineering students and professionals.
  • The Society of Women Engineers (SWE) is focused on supporting women to achieve full potential in careers as engineers and leaders.
  • Tau Beta Pi (TBP) is the National Engineering Honor Society.
Contact Information
Organization Advisor Phone Number Email Address
Engineering Student Body Mr. Ryan Upshaw 662-915-7007 rlupshaw@olemiss.edu
Engineering Service Corps Mr. Ryan Upshaw 662-915-7007 rlupshaw@olemiss.edu
National Society of Black Engineers Dr. Tyrus McCarty 662-915-5377 mccarty@olemiss.edu
American Institute of Chemical Engineers Dr. Paul Scovazzo 662-915-7023 scovazzo@olemiss.edu
Chi Epsilon Dr. Cristiane Surbeck 662-915-5473 csurbeck@olemiss.edu
Tau Beta Pi Dr. Ellen Lackey 662-915-5379 melackey@olemiss.edu
Engineers Without Borders Dr. Wei-Yin Chen 662-915-5651 cmchengs@olemiss.edu
Society of Women Engineers Dr. Elizabeth Ervin 662-915-5618 eke@olemiss.edu
American Society Of Civil Engineering Dr. Chung Song 662-915-1646 csong@olemiss.edu
Association for Computing Machinery Dr. Cynthia A. Zickos 662-915-7309 cbzickos@olemiss.edu
Technology Recycling to Enhance Education Scotty Polston 662-915-7310 tree@olemiss.edu
Institute of Electrical & Electronics Engineers Dr. Paul Goggins 662-915-5379 goggans@olemiss.edu
Assoc. of Engineering Geologists Dr. Gregory Easson 662-915-5995 geasson@olemiss.edu
Upsilon Pi Epsilon Cynthia Zickos 662-915-7309 cbzickos@olemiss.edu
Eta Kappa Nu Dr. W. Elliot Hutchcraft 662-915-6934 eeweh@olemiss.edu
American Society of Mechanical Engineers Dr. P.R. Mantena 662-915-5990 meprm@olemiss.edu